Advice on a better Linux distro to use

I have been using Ubuntu on my older laptop now since around 2019 and as much as I do not have any issues with it, I have heard that there are some other options in terms of distros that would be better to use.

As someone who is still fairly new to Linux even though I have been using one type of distro for around 5 years now, what other distro would you recommend?

1 Like

Another good distro that is debian based would be Linux Mint. Its what I run and its super clean and simple. Love it

2 Likes

I am also using the Linux Mint as given and on top of that run the following

sudo apt-get install gnome
sudo apt-get install ubunutustudio-look

and you will have all the debina based distro addons.

alles super,
Gaurav

I would suggest Fedora to you because it gives you an almost same user experience with your current setup. It’s features are top notch cutting edge and there is a strong community to support you. Even though it uses RPM as a file manager compared to Ubuntu’s DEB but they are amazingly similar in the usability.

I also recommend the Cinnamon edition of Linux Mint. I’ve tried many distros but I like this one more than the others. It’d give you the best desktop experience on a Linux system.

1 Like

From my personal experience. While I still have Ubuntu 22.04 on my notebook, my troubles are:

• I hate snap
  • I hate the bundle of useless South-Asian fonts that desktop Ubuntu comes with.

My solution:

• for servers. our standard distro is Debian.
  • for desktops, we are moving towards a custom Debian-based installer, too.

I think gnome and ubuntustudio-look does not need manual installation if you install third parties softwares check box in the installation of new release or upgrade from lts to lts version. Linux do these installation himself.

linux mint doesnt do and need to install. have a read.

1 Like